Friday, September 24, 2010

Long list for South Asian lit prize out
The Times of India Sep 23, 2010

Amit Chaudhuri's 'The Immortals', Anjum Hassan's 'Neti Neti', Manju Kapur's 'The Immigrant' and Daniyal Muennuddin's 'In Other Rooms, Other Wonders' have made it to the long list of DSC Prize for South Asian Literature Festival ( SALF). The winner will be richer by US $50,000.

On Tuesday, the names of the five jury members were also announced. They are: Lord Matthew Evans, Ian Jack, Amitava Kumar, Moni Mohsin and Nilanjana S Roy. An international advisory panel including M J Akbar, William Darlymple, Urvashi Butalia and Tina Brown will assist the jury.

The full longlist:

1) Upamanyu Chatterjee: Way To Go (Penguin)

2) Amit Chaudhuri: The Immortals (Picador India)
3) Chandrahas Choudhury: Arzee the Dwarf (HarperCollins)
4) Musharraf Ali Farooqui: The Story of a Widow (Picador India)
5) Ru Freeman: A Disobedient Girl (Penguin/ Viking)
6) Anjum Hassan: Neti Neti (IndiaInk/ Roli Books)
7) Tania James: Atlas of Unknowns (Pocket Books)
8) Manju Kapur: The Immigrant (Faber & Faber)
9) HM Naqvi: Home Boy (HarperCollins)
10) Salma: The Hour Past Midnight (Zubaan, translated by Lakshmi Holmstrom)
11) Sankar: The Middleman (Penguin, translated by Arunava Sinha)
12) Ali Sethi: The Wish Maker (Penguin)
13) Jaspreet Singh: Chef (Bloomsbury)
14) Aatish Taseer: The Temple Goers (Picador India)
15) Daniyal Mueenuddin: In Other Rooms, Other Wonders (Random House)
16) Neel Mukherjee: A Life Apart (Picador India)

No comments: