Sunday, February 17, 2019

The Bookseller


Andrea Levy
Andrea Levy, writer of bestselling Windrush generation novel Small Island, has died from cancer at the age of 62.
Umbria
The forecast for the Travel market remains perilous as, after a few years of treading water, the market suffered widespread declines last year, with the potential impact of Brexit showing.
S&S
Simon & Schuster's worldwide revenues for 2018 dipped fractionally to $825m from $830m in 2017, parent company CBS has said.
Cressida Cowell
Hachette UK will sponsor Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) and authors Cressida Cowell, Patrick Gale, Katherine Rundell and screenwriter Ben Aaronovitch will tour bookshops across the country as part of the annual celebration of indies.
Germany
The upheaval in the German book industry continues with wholesaler KNV Gruppe filing for insolvency.
Eoin Colfer
Quercus imprint Jo Fletcher Books has acquired the “remarkable” first adult fantasy novel by Artemis Fowl author Eoin Colfer.

Friday, February 15, 2019

National Flash Fiction Day


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
National Flash Fiction Day
22 June 2019
 
The NFFD 2019 competition is now open!
 
The competition runs February 15 – April 15
 


Adult category judges:
Siobhan Harvey
&
Lloyd Jones
 
 
Youth category judges:
Eirlys Hunter
&
Gail Ingram
 


Information:  nationalflash.org/competition/

Send your best 300 words!

 

Celebrate in June: Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Northland and Wellington!

 

Watch this space for updates: nationalflash.org

Queries: nationalflash@gmail.com

 

Unity Books & Harper Collins invite you to a book launch


Launch | Not Bad People by Brandy Scott | In-store, Tuesday 26th February, 6-7:30pm


Launch | Not Bad People by Brandy Scott | In-store, Tuesday 26th February, 6-7:30pm

Join Unity Books & HarperCollins Publishers for the launch of Brandy Scott’s debut novel

NOT BAD PEOPLE



Tuesday 26th February, 6-7:30pm
Unity Books Wellington, 57 Willis St.

About the book
Three friends, thirty years of shared secrets, one impulsive gesture .. and a terrible accident. When friendship goes bad, someone has to pay. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Robyn Harding.
It’s New Year’s Eve. Three thirty-something women – Aimee, Melinda and Lou – best friends for decades, let off sky lanterns filled with resolutions: for meaning, for freedom, for money. As the glowing paper bags float away, there’s a bright flare in the distance. It could be a sign of luck – or the start of a complete nightmare that will upend their friendships, families and careers.
The day after their ceremony, the newspapers report a small plane crash – two victims pulled from the wreckage, one a young boy. Were they responsible? Aimee thinks they are, Melinda won’t accept it, and Lou has problems of her own. It’s a toxic recipe for guilt trips, shame, obsession, blackmail and power games.
They’re not bad people. But desperate times call for desperate measures.
About the authorBrandy Scott is a former senior producer on Radio New Zealand’s Morning Report. Before her radio career she worked as a print journalist, including contributing from the Middle East to the Economist and serving as features editor for a daily national newspaper, Emirates Today. She is currently based in Dubai co-hosting a popular breakfast show called The Business Breakfast, on the UAE’s only talk radio station, Dubai Eye 103.8. Not Bad People is her first novel.

The Bookseller





Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes’ Still Me (Penguin) has soared into the UK Official Top 50 number one spot, scoring the highest number one single-week volume since Joe Wicks’ Veggie Lean in 15 (Bluebird) in the first week of 2019. 


AAP

American trade publishing saw a 4.6% rise in revenue for 2018 but a decline in educational sales left the market relatively flat, new figures show.




Latest headlines for the book industry
A new episode of The Bookseller Podcast is now live. Tune in here
[Alt-Text]

Hi Graham Beattie, here's the latest
news from theBookseller.com
Feel free to forward to a friend

February 12, 2019
MORNING BRIEFING
Where the news comes first
|
|
|
|
[Alt-Text]
LATEST NEWS
Bologna Children's Book Fair
Exhibition management company AMK Book Services has put emergency procedures in place to ensure publishers can ship all their equipment back to the UK from the Bologna Children’s Book Fair in the event of a no deal Brexit.
Simon Trewin
WME partner and literary agent Simon Trewin has left the London office after six years with the company to open his own agency. 
John Hamilton
Penguin Random House's longtime art director John Hamilton has died aged 55, the publisher has confirmed, with chief executive Tom Weldon paying tribute to his "incredible spirit" which "helped define" PRH.
Gail Rebuck
Baroness Gail Rebuck, the chair of Penguin Random House UK, is urging publishers as well as booksellers to submit evidence to the Treasury Committee’s business rates inquiry. 
survey
The Bookseller is calling on trade to complete a survey into how class is a barrier to entry into writing and publishing.
John Haynes
John Haynes, the founder director of car manual publisher the Haynes Group has died, aged 80, after a short illness. 



Springer Nature
Springer Nature has said the current Plan S requirement for publishers to commit to 'flip' hybrid journals to Open Access is "unnecessary, and...unacceptable for us and for many other publishers."
Publishers' Publicity Circle
Campaigns for titles by Sally Rooney, The Secret Barrister and Michelle Obama were among the winners at the Publisher’s Publicity Circle Annual Awards.
Klaus Flugge Prize
Lincoln First Editions, launched by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books in 2017 to publish debut picture books, has three titles on this year’s Klaus Flugge Prize longlist.
Andrew Kidd
Creative writing charity Arvon has appointed Andrew Kidd as its new chief executive and artistic director.
Borough Press
Borough Press has acquired US author Steven Rowley’s The Editor about a struggling author who sells his novel to Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.
Rebecca Watson
Faber has won a six-publisher auction for Financial Times journalist Rebecca Watson’s debut novel little scratch.
 



Luis Cabrera

Lonely Planet has appointed Luis Cabrera as president and c.e.o. and revealed a new strategy which will “reinvigorate” its digital properties and launch ventures such as festivals, tours and a membership programme.


The Collins Press

Gill Books has bought Irish indie publisher the Collins Press for an undisclosed sum after its owners announced their retirement following 30 years in the book trade.


Kathy Lette

Comedy writers Katy Brand, Jenny Eclair and Kathy Lette are joining authors Marian Keyes and Allison Pearson to judge the inaugural Comedy Women in Print Prize.


Society of Authors

More than 750 people have signed a Society of Authors (SoA) letter demanding the Internet Archive stops its Open Library project lending scanned books online in the UK.

[Alt-Text]







Seven Dials has acquired the “big-hearted and empowering” first book by "I'm A Celebrity" campmate Emily Atack.


Tomi Ungerer

French illustrator Tomi Ungerer, who published more than 140 books, has died at the age of 87.


Paul Murdin

Hodder & Stoughton has secured a new book by astronomer Professor Paul Murdin, The Secret Lives of Planets.




HQ will publish “a warm, witty, honest, and accessible” account of writer and comedian Katy Brand’s life-long obsession with "Dirty Dancing", I Carried a Watermelon, billed as part-memoir, part homage to the 1987 film.


Indonesia Market Focus

A programme of events focusing on Indonesian publishing will be held at the London Book Fair this year, including insights into children’s books and current market trends.
S Fischer
German publisher S Fischer has promoted Alexander Roesler to editorial director of non-fiction, to replace Nina Sillem who left in September to establish her own literary agency.