Wednesday, March 31, 2010

2010 Australian Prime Minister's Literary Awards
Call for entries to the 2010 Awards
New award categories

In 2010, two new prizes have been added to the Awards to recognise literature for younger reading audiences.
The two new categories—Young Adult and Children's fiction—acknowledge the importance of literature for young audiences and its power to give rise to a lifelong passion for books.

The winners of the four categories, fiction, non-fiction, young adult fiction and children's fiction will each receive a $100,000 tax-free prize, bringing the total Award prize to $400,000.

Call for entries

Entries are invited to the Prime Minister's Literary Awards—Australia's richest literary prize for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Young Adult's Fiction and Children's Fiction.
The Prime Minister's Literary Awards recognise the contribution of Australian literature to the nation's cultural and intellectual life.

The Minister for the Arts called for authors, publishers and literary agents to enter their books into the 2010 Awards for the opportunity to win this prestigious literary award.
Works must be written by living Australian citizens or permanent residents, first published in English and first offered for general sale between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2009.

Entries are due at 5pm on Friday 16 April 2010.
More information including the guidelines and entry form can be found at

No comments: