Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Awards: Bancroft Prize's Three Winners

The winners of the 2009 Bancroft Prize, awarded by Columbia University to the authors of books of "exceptional merit in the fields of American history, biography and diplomacy," are:
Thomas G. Andrews for Killing for Coal: America's Deadliest Labor War (Harvard University Press). Andrews is assistant professor of history at the University of Colorado at Denver, and this is his first book.

Drew Gilpin Faust for This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War (Knopf). Faust is president of Harvard University and Lincoln Professor of History.

Pekka Hämäläinen for The Comanche Empire (Yale University Press). Hämäläinen is associate professor of history at the University of California at Santa Barbara.
Each winner receives $10,000.

No comments: