Thursday, October 23, 2008

Long list announced for $110,000 Australia-Asia Literary Award
Story from The Australian

BOOKER Prize winner JM Coetzee is one of 12 authors in the running for Australia's richest book prize.
Coetzee's Diary of a Bad Year has been nominated for the inaugural $110,000 Australia-Asia Literary Award, announced by former West Australian premier Alan Carpenter last year.

Janet Turner Hospital's Orpheus Lost is on the list, along with David Malouf's The Complete Stories and Haruki Murakami's novel After Dark.

Two former Man Booker Prize contenders were also selected from the 111 entrants: Mohsin Hamid's The Reluctant Fundamentalist was on the 2007 Man Booker short list and Michelle de Krester's The Lost Dog was on this year's long list.
Two novels considered for the 2008 Miles Franklin Award, Rodney Hall's Love without Hope and Alex Miller's Landscape of Farewell are also on the list.
The award is open to any book-length work published electronically or in print.
Authors must either reside in Australia or Asia or set their work in Australia or an Asian country, either write or have their works translated into English and have been published in the last year.

A panel of three judges - Melbourne literary critic Peter Craven, Pakistani-born author Kamila Shamsie and Hong Kong based founder of the Asia Literary Review Nury Vittachi - will narrow the list to six by October 30.

The full list:
J.M. COETZEE - Diary of a Bad Year Publisher: Random House Group Ltd
Matthew CONDON - The Trout Opera Publisher: Random House (Vintage)
Michelle DE KRETSER - The Lost Dog Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Ceridwen DOVEY - Blood Kin Publisher: Atlantic Books
Rodney HALL - Love without Hope Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Mohsin HAMID - The Reluctant Fundamentalist Publisher: Penguin
Mireille JUCHAU - Burning In Giramondo Publishing
David MALOUF - The Complete Stories Publisher: Random House
Alex MILLER - Landscape of Farewell Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Haruki MURAKAMI - After Dark Translator: Jay Rubin Publisher: Random House Group
Indra SINHA - Animal’s People Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK Ltd
Janette TURNER HOSPITAL - Orpheus Lost Publisher: HarperCollins

No comments: