Friday, October 23, 2009

Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement to be awarded at a ceremony at Premier House on 28 October 2008.

Next Wednesday, 28th October, the 2009 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement will be announced in Wellington as part of New Zealand Book Month. These awards recognise outstanding New Zealand writers in the three genres of poetry, fiction and non-fiction. This years recipients are celebrated wordsmiths who have played an integral role in the formation of New Zealand s unique and diverse literary voice.

Each writer receives $60,000 in recognition of their significant contribution to New Zealand literature. Nominations for the awards come from their peers and the general public for a body of work that reinforces and enhances this country's unique culture. The Awards are administered by Creative New Zealand.

The awards began in 2003, the complete list of recipients to date is:

Fiction: Janet Frame (2003), Maurice Gee (2004), Margaret Mahy (2005), Patricia Grace (2006), Fiona Farrell (2007), Lloyd Jones (2008)
Poetry: Hone Tuwhare (2003), Kevin Ireland (2004), Alistair Te Ariki Campbell (2005), Vincent O Sullivan (2006), Bill Manhire (2007), Elizabeth Smithers (2008).
Non-fiction: Michael King (2003), Anne Salmond (2004), Philip Temple (2005), Judith Binney (2006), Dick Scott (2007), WH (Bill) Oliver (2008).

No comments: