Saturday, October 31, 2009

Philip Kerr title wins Ellis Peters award

Philip Kerr has won the Crime Writers Association (CWA)’s Ellis Peters Historical Award for his novel set in 1930s Germany, If The Dead Rise Not, published by Quercus.

He beat off competition from fellow Quercus author Shona Maclean and Orion's Laura Wilson.

The £3,000 prize was awarded last night (29th October) and is sponsored by the estate of Ellis Peters, Headline and Little, Brown Book Group.

CWA chair Margaret Murphy said: "The judging panel was mightily impressed by the exceptional quality of novels entered into the award—even commending two authors on the longlist. Philip Kerr is a truly worthy recipient of the prize."
The Ellis Peters award, set up in the name of the author of the Cadfael mystieres, rewards the best historical crime novel set in any period up to 35 years prior to the year in which the award is made.

Also shortlisted were:
 Rennie Airth's The Dead of Winter (Macmillan); 
Shona MacLean The Redemption of Alexander Seaton (Quercus
); Mark Mills' The Information Officer (HarperCollins
); Andrew Williams' The Interrogator (John Murray); and 
Laura Wilson's An Empty Death (
Orion). The CWA judges also asked for two longlisted titles to be specially highlighted: Rory Clements for Martyr (John Murray) and Allison & Busby author Marjorie Eccles for Broken Music.

Report from The Bookseller

No comments: