Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship applications close next week

New Zealand writers at home and abroad have until Friday, November 6 to apply for the Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship.
The Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship is a national literary Fellowship offered by Buddle Findlay in partnership with The Frank Sargeson Trust. It offers an annual $40,000 stipend and the opportunity for an outstanding published New Zealand writer (or writers) to write full time while using the Sargeson Centre apartment alongside the University of Auckland in the city.
The Fellowship was established in 1987 to commemorate Frank Sargeson and provide assistance for New Zealand writers. In 1997 Buddle Findlay became the commercial sponsor of the Fellowship.
Buddle Findlay National Chairman, Peter Chemis, says the Fellowship is designed to give New Zealand writers the financial freedom and personal space they need to craft their stories and contribute to New Zealand’s literary tradition.
This year’s Fellowship has been shared by Steve Braunias, pic left, and Julian Novitz, each spending 5 months in the Sargeson Centre.

Past Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellows (from 1997 onwards) include: Fiona Samuel, Peter Cox, Karyn Hay, Craig Marriner, Toa Fraser, Debra Daley, Denis Baker, Riemke Ensing, Vivienne Plumb, Chad Taylor, Shonagh Koea, Diane Brown, Catherine Chidgey, Sarah Quigley, Tina Shaw, Kapka Kassabova, Sue Reidy, James Brown, Charlotte Grimshaw, Emily Perkins, James George, Brigid Lowry, Paula Morris, Steve Braunias and Julian Novitz.

Would-be applicants can obtain more information from Pam Smith, Marketing Coordinator, Buddle Findlay.
Telephone 64-9-363 0650 or email
Application forms can also be downloaded from
For further information:

No comments: