Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Fifth anniversary for women in publishing award

Booktrust is pleased to open nominations for the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize which is the only national prize to recognise the professional achievements of women in their publishing careers.

This year is the fifth anniversary of the £3,000 prize which was founded in honour of Kim Scott Walwyn, a Publishing Director at Oxford University Press who died in 2002 at the age of 45.
She was an outstanding editor and generous and inspirational manager whose career was widely recognised and celebrated during her life.

Previous winners of the prestigious prize include Annette Thomas, then Managing Director of Nature Publishing who later became CEO of Macmillan and Lynette Owen, Copyright Director of Pearson Education Ltd who was recently awarded an OBE.

Last year the prize was awarded to the literary agent Clare Alexander.

Nominations are open from 19 January 2009 to 9 March 2009.
For rules and guidelines of the award, and to nominate please go to

The prize committee is Professor Dame Gillian Beer DBE, FBA, FRSL (King Edward VII Professor Emeritus at the University of Cambridge); Catherine Clarke (Literary Agent, Felicity Bryan Agency); Denise Johnstone-Burt (Publisher at Walker Books); Kate Jury (student, Landscape Architecture), Hermione Lee CBE (Biographer, English Literature professor and President of Wolfson College Oxford), Fiona Maddocks (Chief Music Critic, The Observer); Sarah O’Brien (Legal worker); and Francine Stock (Novelist and Broadcaster).

The prize will be announced at a ceremony in May 2009.

No comments: