HarperAudio will release audiobook versions of fifteen backlist titles by celebrated Czech author Milan Kundera. This marks the first time these Kundera titles will be available in audiobook format.
Actors Richmond Hoxie (fiction) and Graeme Malcolm (nonfiction) will narrate these works. They will be released throughout the rest of this year.
Executive editor Terry Karten had this statement in the release: ”The publication in audio format of the complete works of Milan Kundera, one of the most distinguished and innovative authors of our era, is a major literary event. Harper Perennial has recently reissued Kundera’s backlist with new covers featuring original artwork from the author. These developments are sure to bring renewed attention to this renowned author.”

In addition, HarperCollins has acquired the translation rights to Kundera’s dramatic play, Jacques & His Master. That project will come out in both print and audio formats; Simon Callow will translate.

Here is a complete list of the Kundera audiobooks:

The Unbearable Lightness of Being
The Book of Laughter
The Joke
Farewell Waltz
Life is Elsewhere
Laughable Loves
The Art of the Novel
Testaments Betrayed
Jacques & His Master