Tuesday, September 22, 2009

2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist

September 21, 2009 (Toronto, ON) – The 2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury today announced its longlist of books in the running for this year’s prize.

The jury selected 12 titles out of 96 books, submitted by 39 publishers from every region of Canada.
Celebrated American novelist and short story writer Russell Banks, acclaimed UK author and journalist Victoria Glendinning, and distinguished Canadian writer and professor, Alistair MacLeod made up the 2009 jury. Two thousand and nine marks the sixteenth year of the prize.
From a highly competitive field, the Scotiabank Giller jury has selected the following titles for this year’s longlist:

Margaret Atwood,pic right, for her novel The Year Of The Flood, published by McClelland & Stewart

Martha Baillie for her novel The Incident Report, published by Pedlar Press

Kim Echlin for her novel The Disappeared, published by Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

Claire Holden Rothman for her novel The Heart Specialist, published by Cormorant Books

Paulette Jiles for her novel The Colour Of Lighting, published by HarperCollins Publishers

Jeanette Lynes for her novel The Factory Voice, published by Coteau Books

Annabel Lyon for her novel The Golden Mean, published by Random House Canada

Linden MacIntyre for his novel The Bishop’s Man, published by Random House Canada

Colin McAdam for his novel Fall, published by Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

Anne Michaels for her novel The Winter Vault, published by McClelland & Stewart

Shani Mootoo for her novel Valmiki’s Daughter, published by House of Anansi Press

Kate Pullinger for her novel The Mistress Of Nothing, published by McArthur & Company

No comments: