Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Ashton Wylie Book Award 2012 Finalists Announced


The New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc), in association with the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust, is delighted to announce the seven finalists for the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Award.   The Book Award offers one of the largest monetary prizes for literature in the country with an award of $10,000 for a published work which embodies the mind, body, spirit genre.

Maggie Tarver, Chief Executive Officer for the NZSA, says the Book Awards always attracts an impressive number of entries and 2012 was no exception.

“The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literature Awards attracts much interest from the literary community and  we have received over 50 entries in the published book category,” says Ms Tarver.

The Book Award finalists are:

Robin Kelly – The Human Hologram
Bernadette Logue – Pinch Me – How Following the Signals Changed My Life
Alan Dawe – The God Franchise
Keith Hill – Secular Spirituality
Martin Herbertson – The Sleeping Messiah
Glenys-Kay O’Byrne – Metaphysics 101:  Buckle Up For The Wildest Ride of Your Life
Cliff Harvey –  Time Rich, Cash Optional : An Unconventional Guide To Happiness

The Ashton Wylie Children’s Book Award 2012 was run for the first time this year but the selection panel elected not to declare finalists or a winner for this award.  However an award of merit has been given to Marnie Anstis for  “The Millennium Tree.”

The award winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s own venue, the Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland on Friday 24 August 2012.  A day of Children’s Writing Workshops will follow on 25th August featuring Joy Cowley, Martin Taylor, Maria Gill and Sandra Morris. For booking information contact www.awct.org.nz

No comments: