Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Caldecott and Newbery Medal Winners Announced

Publishers Lunch

The ALA presented their many Youth Media Awards this morning on the closing day of their winter meeting in Philadelphia. The Newbery medal went to Kate DiCamillo for FLORA AND ULYSSES (Candlewick), and the Caldecott went to Brian Floca for LOCOMOTIVE (S&S Children's), which he wrote and illustrated. DiCamillo won the Newbery previously for her 2003 novel, THE TALE OF DESPEREAUX (and her BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE was a Newbery Honor Book).

Among other honorees, Marcus Sedgwick won the Michael L. Printz Award for MIDWINTER BLOOD (Roaring Brook Press) and Markus Zusak won the Margaret A. Edwards Award for "significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature." 
The Coretta Scott King author award went to Rita Williams-Garcia for P.S. BE ELEVEN; the illustrator award was given to Bryan Collier for KNOCK KNOCK: My Dad’s Dream for Me, written by Daniel Beaty.

The Newbery Honor Books were:

Doll Bones, by Holly Black (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
The Year of Billy Miller, by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow Books)
One Came Home, by Amy Timberlake (Knopf Children's)
Paperboy, by Vince Vawter (Delacorte)

The three Caldecott Honor Books were:

Journey, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker (Candlewick)
Flora and the Flamingo, written and illustrated by Molly Idle (Chronicle)
Mr. Wuffles!, written and illustrated by David Wiesner (Clarion Books)

For the complete list of medalists and honor books, check this press release or the ALA's Facebook page.

No comments: