Friday, October 21, 2016

The Orwell Lecture 2016 - The Orwell Prize judges announced

The Orwell Prize has made a series of exciting announcements - scroll down to read about the Judges for the Orwell Prize 2017, Ian Hislop's Orwell Lecture 2016 and our move to UCL.

The Orwell Lecture 2016

Tuesday 15th November | 6.30pm | UCL



The Orwell Prize is proud to announce that the Orwell Lecture 2016 will be given by Ian Hislop, editor of Private Eye, on the subject of 'The Right to Dissent (and the Left, too)'. The Orwell Lecture is open to the public and tickets are free. To book tickets, please visit
The Orwell Prize is now based at the Institute for Advanced Studies, UCL. UCL is home to the Orwell Archive and is a centre for Orwell Scholarship. The Prize expects to be able to develop Orwell scholarship and cultural and political engagement in the sympathetic and stimulating environment of the IAS. "The Orwell Prize's move to UCL is as logical as it is exciting... we look forward to working with the Orwell Prize to develop Orwell scholarship, and to stimulate cultural and political discourse in the name of one of the world's most incisive and relevant writers." Professor Tamar Garb, Director of UCL's IAS. 

Watch a video celebrating the announcement here

The Orwell Prize 2017 Judges

The judges for the Orwell Prizes 2017 were announced last night at the Frontline Club at a debate on 'Experts, the Media and Politics' with Jamie Bartlett, Ashwin Kumar, Christopher Snowdon and Polly Toynbee to mark the launch of the Orwell Prize 2017.

The Orwell Prize for books will be judged by Jonathan Derbyshire, Bonnie Greer, Mark Lawson and Erica Wagner;

the Orwell Prize for Journalism 2017 will be judged by Liz Forgan, Alan Little and Francis Wheen;

the Orwell for Exposing Britain's Social evils, sponsored and supported by the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, will be judged by Samira Ahmed, Claire Ainsley and Julian Le Grand.

Read more about the judges here

"This year's Orwell judges will be unearthing a selection of the best, bleakest, most inspiring, most intelligent thinking in writing and journalism. The Prize depends on both the authority and variety of tastes that the judges bring to the process and this year we have a stellar collection." Jean Seaton, Director

The Orwell Prize 2017 opens for entries on the 31st October 2016 and closes on the 12th January 2017. Visit or email the administrator
Brand new Encountering Orwell: friends, former winners and judges of the Orwell Prize contribute their memories of 'encountering Orwell'. Visit for new encounters by Rowan Williams, Alison Holt, Clive Stafford Smith and many more to come. Encountering Orwell was originally launched in 2014, the Prize's 21st anniversary.

No comments: