Monday, February 25, 2013

Shortlist announced for world's most valuable short story award

Behind closed doors: dark domestic tales make eye-catching final six for Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award; Pulitzer Prize-winner up against the best of Britain for £30,000 prize

An explosive and diverse set of stories from six award-winning authors make up the shortlist for The Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award 2013. Two of the stories – from Pulitzer Prize-winning Junot Díaz and Sarah Hall – tackle the dangerous power of unusual sexual relationships, whilst the entries from Mark Haddon and Cynan Jones explore the implications of violence. The impressive shortlist is rounded off with a nimble and moving science-fiction tale from Toby Litt and a magical modern fable from Ali Smith.

The six shortlisted writers and the titles of their short stories are:

•       Junot Díaz – ‘Miss Lora’
•       Mark Haddon – ‘The Gun’
•       Sarah Hall (left) – ‘Evie’
•       Cynan Jones – ‘The Dig’
•       Toby Litt – ‘Call it “The Bug” Because I Have No Time to Think of     a Better Title’
•       Ali Smith – ‘The Beholder’

The victorious author will win £30,000, the biggest prize in the world for a single short story, with the five other shortlisted writers each receiving £1,000. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner at The Sunday Times Oxford Literary Festival on 22 March.

This year’s judges are award-winning novelists: Andrew O’Hagan, Lionel Shriver, Joanna Trollope and Sarah Waters. Completing the line-up are Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, and Lord Matthew Evans, Chairman of EFG Private Bank (non-voting Chair of Judges).

For full details of the Award visit:

No comments: