Monday, June 24, 2013

Winners announced for New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards

24 June 2013

A teen novel that begins its dramatic journey on New Zealand’s East Coast has picked up the top prize at this year’s New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards.
Ted Dawe’s book Into the River won the New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and was also the winner of the Young Adult Fiction category.  This engaging coming of age novel follows its main protagonist from his childhood in small town rural New Zealand to an elite Auckland boarding school where he must forge his own way – including battling with his cultural identity.
Into the River was the book that stood out for us,” says Chief Judge and author Bernard Beckett.
“Traditionally, books aimed at the top end of the young adult market [ages 15+] have not been a strength of ours here in New Zealand, with most books aimed nearer the junior fiction boundary. We were delighted to see a book that both engaged and respected older readers, with material as subtle as it is honest and provocative.
“We congratulate Ted for his superb book, as well as the other winners and finalists who have shown the calibre of children’s books in New Zealand to be well above par.
“It was great to see new talent emerging to line up alongside more established authors and illustrators,” Bernard Beckett said.
The judging panel also comprised children’s literature expert and author Eirlys Hunter and presenter of Radio New Zealand’s Arts on Sunday programme, Lynn Freeman. Together, the panel handpicked 19 finalists from a field of more than a hundred children’s book entries.
The New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards promote excellence and provide recognition for the best written and illustrated children’s books published by New Zealand authors each year.
As the winner of both the Young Adult Fiction category and the New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year, Mr Dawe received a total of $15,000 in cash prizes.
The New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards winners for 2013 are:
Best Young Adult Fiction and New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year
Into the River*
by Ted Dawe
Mangakino University Press
ISBN 9780473205089
Best Non-Fiction 100 Amazing Tales from Aotearoa
by Simon Morton & Riria Hotere
Te Papa Press
ISBN 9781877385797
Best Junior Fiction
My Brother's War
by David Hill
Penguin Group NZ
ISBN 9780143307174 (paperback)
ISBN 9781742532653 (e-book)
Honour award, Junior Fiction The Queen and the Nobody Boy: A Tale of Fontania series
by Barbara Else
Gecko Press
ISBN 9781877579493
Best Picture Book
Mister Whistler
by Margaret Mahy & Gavin Bishop
Gecko Press
ISBN 9781877467929
Best First Book Reach
by Hugh Brown
ISBN 9781869509569
Children’s Choice
by Kyle Mewburn, Ali Teo & John O’Reilly, Scholastic NZ
ISBN 9781775430278
NB. Into the River by Ted Dawe is aimed at young adult readers. Given that the book contains some explicit material we advise parental discretion.


Mark Hubbard said...

I saw a couple of interesting posts on Twitter last night - didn't favourite them, so can't go back and find - but to the effect that Into the River was self-published.

Mangakino University Press?

Beattie's Book Blog said...

Yes, self published.

Beattie's Book Blog said...

UBS Canterbury have sold out but have more coming, I have ordered a copy, you might care to do the same Mark?

Mark Hubbard said...

So many books on my 'to buy' list Graham ... maybe.

I'd be interested in the story behind his success though. Normally self-publishing knocks you out of award contention. And he's done very well with his marketing to get recognised to the stage he had the visibility to be selected for this.

Actually, on the above grounds alone, I might buy the book, I think, yes. I'm curious.

(Didn't get a chance on other thread: well done on the life time award).

Melinda Szymanik said...

The NZ Post Children's Book awards allow you to submit a self published book for consideration including digital only editions. Any submission is then eligible for shortlisting and the awards based on its own merits