Saturday, October 26, 2013

Shortlist revealed for 2013 T S Eliot Prize

The shortlist for the £15,000 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry has been revealed, with publishers Faber, Jonathan Cape and Bloodaxe having two entries each.

Out of 113 titles submitted by publishers, 11 “fantastic books” have been chosen for the shortlist.
Faber has The Water Stealer by Maurice Riordan and Ramayana: A Retelling by Daljit Nagra on the shortlist; Jonathan Cape has Red Doc by Anne Carson and Drysalter by Michael Symmons Roberts; and Bloodaxe has Bad Machine by George Szirtes and At the Time of Partition by Moniza Alvi.
The other titles are Division Street by Helen Mort, published by Chatto & Windus; Hill of Doors by Robin Robertson, published by Picador; and Speak, Old Parrot by Dannie Abse, published by Hutchinson.

The £15,000 prize will awarded on Sunday 12th January 2014 at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall.
Chair of the prize, Ian Duhig, said: "It's an honour to chair the T S Eliot Prize, a pleasure to work with my distinguished fellow judges Imtiaz Dharker and Vicki Feaver, and a nightmare to shortlist from so many fantastic books. Congratulations to those poets who made it and those who didn't, so much of whose work I read with enormous delight and envy."

The shortlisted poets will all receive £1,000. Sharon Olds won in January 2013

No comments: