Saturday, October 26, 2013

Dagger winners announced at Crime Thriller Awards

Dagger winners
Left-to right: Mick Herron, Derek B Miller, Roger Hobbs

CWA Goldsboro Gold: Mick Herron for Dead Lions

CWA Ian Fleming Steel: Roger Hobbs for Ghostman
CWA John Creasey: Derek B Miller for Norwegian by Night

Thursday 24 October: This evening, at a star-studded Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2013, the winners of the last three CWA Daggers were revealed. The Awards ceremony will be televised on itv3 on Sunday October 27th at 9pm.

Mick Herron was awarded the CWA 2013 Goldsboro Gold Dagger, for the best crime novel of the Year. His novel, Dead Lions, is published by Soho Crime. The Judges described his book as “…a well written, wickedly clever send-up of the classic British spy novel.” Mick Herron commented: “My shelves are crammed with Gold Dagger-winning novels of the past - The Mermaids Singing, Black and Blue, Bones and Silence. I can’t quite believe I get to put my own book next to them.”

The CWA 2013 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for best thriller of the year went to Roger Hobbs for Ghostman, published by Doubleday. The Judges described his book as “…an assured and engaging novel which maintains suspense throughout and grips the reader to the very end.”

And Derek B Miller won the CWA 2013 John Creasey Dagger, for best new crime writer of the year, with Norwegian by Night, published by Faber and Faber. The judges praised “… this beautifully-written contribution to Nordic noir with a twist. It cleverly avoids many the genre’s clichés and pitfalls and emerges triumphant as a fully-dimensional gem.”

No comments: