Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Business book prize shortlist unveiled

From The Bookseller 25 September:

Alan Greenspan's new high-profile memoir The Age of Turbulence (Allen Lane) features among the shortlisted titles for this year's Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award.

Announced today (25th September), the shortlist also includes Zoom: The Global Race to Fuel the Car of the Future by Iain Carson and Vijay V Vaitheeswaran (Twelve/HGB USA), The Last Tycoons: The Secret History of Lazard Frères & Co by William D Cohan (Doubleday), Immigrants: Your Country Needs Them by Philippe Legrain (Little, Brown), The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable by Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Allen Lane) and Wikinomics: How Mass Collaboration Changes Everything by Don Tapscott and Anthony D Williams (Atlantic).

The six books were chosen as "the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues" by a panel of judges, which included Financial Times editor Lionel Barber and Goldman Sachs chairman Lloyd C Blankfein.

The winner will receive £30,000 and the other five shortlisted authors will each receive £5,000.
The overall winner will be announced at a gala event at The British Library on 25th October.

And from the same issue of The Bookseller good news for poets!

Poetry award increases prize pot

The Poetry Book Society has increased the prize money awarded for the T S Eliot Prize for poetry, making it the largest cash prize in British poetry. The winner of the 2007 Prize will receive £15,000-up from previous years' £10,000-and shortlisted poets will receive a cheque for £1,000 for the first time.

This year's shortlist will comprise the Poetry Book Society’s four Choice collections for 2007-The Speed of Dark by Ian Duhig (Picador), The Pomegranates of Kandahar by Sarah Maguire (Chatto), The Drowned Book by Sean O’Brien (Picador) and Pessimism for Beginners by Sophie Hannah(Carcanet)-and another six books to be chosen by the panel of judges.

The shortlist will be announced in early November, and the winner is announced on 14th January. The prize money is donated by T S Eliot's widow Valerie Eliot.

No comments: