Monday, September 26, 2011

Third Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award - entries sought

A stellar cast of judges has been announced for the world’s most valuable prize for a single short story. Novelist, screenwriter and broadcaster, Melvyn Bragg (left), returns to the panel to judge the £30,000 Award for the second consecutive year. He will be joined by stage and screen actor Ian Hart and three other literary heavyweights: the playwright, screenwriter, novelist, short story writer and director Hanif Kureishi; the novelist Joanna Trollope; and the novelist and short story writer Edna O’Brien – fresh from winning the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Completing the line-up are Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, and Matthew Evans, Chairman of EFG Private Bank and the non-voting Chair of Judges.
The judges are looking for an outstanding story of 6,000 words or under from a fiction author from anywhere in the world who has been published in the UK or Ireland. The winner will receive £30,000, and the five shortlisted writers will this year each receive £1000 – double the 2011 prize money – as well as having their work published online.

Key dates:
  • 28 October 2011
  • deadline for submissions
  • 19 February 2012 
  • longlist announced
  • 4 March 2012 
  • shortlist announced
  • 30 March 2012 
  • winner announced at a special event at The Sunday Times Oxford Literary Festival
For full details of eligibility, terms and conditions and entry forms visit:

1 comment:

PONS Idiomas said...

Hola, quizás os interese saber que tenemos una colección que incluye el relato 'Strangers When We Meet' de Hanif Kureishi en versión original conjuntamente con el relato 'NippleJesus' de Nick Hornby.

El formato de esta colección es innovador porque permite leer directamente la obra en inglés sin necesidad de usar el diccionario al integrarse un glosario en cada página.

Tenéis más info de este relato y de la colección Read&Listen en