Monday, August 27, 2012

Ashton Wylie Book Award Winners 2012 Announced

The New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc.) in association with the
Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust are delighted to announce the winners of the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Award and Unpublished Manuscript Award. 

Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Award
Winner: Alan Dawe –  “The God Franchise”

Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Unpublished Manuscript Award
Winner: Lionel Sharman – “Science for Vicars - and some Religion for Atheists”

The judging panel – Adonia Wylie, Ian Creusen-Foot and William Taylor commented that they were delighted to see the numbers of entries up on last year’s and that the quality, particularly in the Unpublished Manuscripts, was impressive.   Adonia Wylie says that amongst the applications were many books in the mind, body, spirit genre that were deserving of publication and the judges task to choose finalists and winner was not an easy one.

The Ashton Wylie Children’s Book Award 2012 was run for the first time this year but no winner was chosen for this award.

The Awards were held at the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s own venue, the Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland on Friday 24 August 2012.

No comments: