Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Latest news from The Bookseller

Jiang Jun
China Publishing Group vice-president Jiang Jun has said it is “business as usual” for the publishing house in acquiring foreign rights, despite recent reports that a cap has been placed on the number of overseas children's picture books Chinese houses can bring out.
Hodder & Stoughton
In the Mire, the atmospheric Swedish debut which prompted a Europe-wide frenzy for rights at last week's London Book Fair, has been snapped up by Hodder & Stoughton after a three-way auction. 
Jacob Ross
Jacob Ross has won the inaugural Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour for his crime novel The Bone Readers (Peepal Tree).
Rosamund de la Hey
The Mainstreet Trading Company’s Rosamund de la Hey has been re-elected at the Booksellers Association president for a second year.
The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award
The six-strong shortlist for this year’s £30,000 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award includes British writer and poet Richard Lambert and Irish writer Sally Rooney.
Chester Williams
Nobel laureate prizewinning poet “gentle giant” Derek Walcott has died aged 87 at his home in St Lucia after a long illness.

Tess of the D'urbervilles
W H Smith is celebrating its 225th anniversary year with a classic ‘yellowback’ book collection similar to the ones sold in the mid-1800s by the retailer.
Leaf Arbuthnot
Leaf Arbuthnot, author of An Unmaimed Man, has won Tibor Jones' 2017 Pageturner Prize for unpublished novels.
Marina Warner
The Royal Society of Literature has elected Marina Warner as its first female president.
Anne Robinson
Author and broadcaster Anne Robinson is to chair the David Vaisey Prize, a new £5,000 award launched to recognise an "oustanding" Gloucestershire library initiative.

No comments: