Thursday, October 01, 2015

Awards: 5 Under 35; Kirkus Prize Shortlists

Publishers Lunch

1. The National Book Foundation announced its latest roster of 5 Under 35 honorees Wednesday morning on BuzzFeed, including Angela Flournoy, whose debut novel The Turner House (HMH) is also on the current National Book Awards fiction longlist. The other honorees are:

Colin Barrett, Young Skins (Black Cat)
Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, Fra Keeler (Dorothy Project)
Tracy O'Neill, The Hopeful (Ig Publishing)
Megan Kruse, Call Me Home (Hawthorne Books)

2. The Kirkus Prize announced shortlists in fiction, nonfiction, and various children's book categories, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony in Austin, TX on October 15. In fiction, National Book Award longlisted titles by Hanya Yanagihara and Lauren Groff also appear on the Kirkus Prize list, while new MacArthur honoree Ta-Nehisi Coates adds another nomination for Between the World and Me. The complete nominees comprise:

The Incarnations by Susan Barker (Touchstone)
A Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin (FSG)
Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff (Riverhead)
The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli; translated by Christina MacSweeney (Coffee House Press)
The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard (Knopf)
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (Doubleday)

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (Spiegel & Grau)
Whirlwind: The American Revolution and the War that Won It by John Ferling (Bloomsbury)
H Is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (Grove)
The Deluge by Adam Tooze (Viking)
Pacific by Simon Winchester (Harper)
The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wulf (Knopf)

Picture Book
The New Small Person by Lauren Child (Candlewick)
Lillian’s Right to Vote by Jonah Winter; illustrated by Shane W. Evans (Schwartz & Wade)

Middle Grade

Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan (Scholastic)
Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams)

Young Adult

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough (Arthur A. Levine)
Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older (Arthur A. Levine)

3. The Dayton Literary Peace prizes have gone to Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson (for nonfiction) and The Great Glass Sea by Josh Weil (for fiction).

No comments: