Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Hugo Winners Announced
Anticipation is pleased to announce the Hugo winners for 2009.
Presented at: Anticipation, Montréal, Quebec, August 6-10, 2009

The Hugo Award, first presented in 1953, celebrate the best in the field of science fiction and fantasy. Recipients are chosen by members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are presented each year at the World Science Fiction Convention.

The winner of the Big Heart Award for service to fandom is Andrew Porter.
The winner of the Hugo logo design competition is Jeremy Kratz.
Best Novel* The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)
Best Novella* “The Erdmann Nexus” by Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2008)
Best Novelette* “Shoggoths in Bloom” by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s Mar 2008)
Best Short Story* “Exhalation” by Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)
Best Related Book*Your Hate Mail Will be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998–2008 by John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)
Best Graphic Story* Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

1 comment:

Libby said...

I just recently found Neil Gaiman and am already a big fan!