Wednesday, January 06, 2016


The Sarah Broom Poetry Prize is New Zealand’s most valuable poetry prize and aims to recognise and financially support new work from an emerging or established New Zealand poet through a $12,000 award.
The prize was established in 2013 in honour of the New Zealand poet Sarah Broom (1972-2013), the author of Tigers at Awhitu (2010) and Gleam (2013).
Entries open 5 January 2016 and close 18 February 2016
Now in its third year, the Sarah Broom Poetry Prize will be announced at the Auckland Writers Festival in May 2016. Shortlisted poets will be invited to read their poetry at a dedicated poetry event at the Festival, where the winner will be announced.
In 2016 the judge for the prize will be Paul Muldoon. One of the world's leading contemporary poets, and the author of over thirty collections, Paul was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 2003, and the T.S. Eliot Prize in 1994. A past Professor of Poetry at Oxford, he is now at Princeton University. Paul is the President of the British Poetry Society and Poetry Editor at The New Yorker. The Guardian describes Paul Muldoon as "amongst the few significant poets of our half-century” and “the most significant English-language poet born since the second world war.” His most recent collection is One Thousand Things Worth Knowing (2015).
For more information about the prize and Sarah Broom visit
For more information about the Auckland Writers Festival, which launches its 2016 programme on 16 March 2016, visit

The prize is awarded on the basis of an original collection of poems by a New Zealand resident or citizen. Entries will be accepted from 5 January 2016 until 18 February 2016. Poets are required to submit six to eight poems, of which at least five must be unpublished. The recipient of the prize will be announced in May 2016 at the Auckland Writers Festival.
Entries should be emailed to
Any queries should be emailed to

1. Poets are required to submit six to eight poems of which at least five must be unpublished.
2. There is no maximum or minimum length – formatting and font size is your choice.
3. Entrants must be New Zealand permanent residents or citizens.
4. Only one entry per person will be accepted.
5. Entries must be the author’s original work. Any use of quotation must be acknowledged by attribution to its source.
6. Entries must be submitted as one electronic file per entrant, as an email attachment in Word or PDF format. No identifying details should be present in this poetry portfolio.
7. Your entry should also include a covering email with a brief personal statement, an indication of how you would use the award money, and contact details. These covering details are not provided to the guest judge.
8. The judge will assess the merits of submissions, and the Sarah Broom Poetry Trust reserves the right not to award a prize.
9. The prize recipient will be announced at the Auckland Writers Festival in May 2016 and in other appropriate publications.
10. No correspondence with the judge will be entered into.

11. The name and photograph of the prize recipient may be used by the Sarah Broom Poetry Trust for publicity purposes.  

No comments: