Tuesday, February 05, 2019

Storyline News

Success for book on children's literature


Children's Literature in a Multililterate World, edited by Nicola Daly and Dr. Libby Limbrick, with advisory editor Pam Dix, has been shortlisted for the United Kingdom Literacy Association 2019 Academic Book Award. Children's Literature in a Multililterate World is published by Trentham Books and UCL, Institute of Education Press, University College London, is a collection of chapters based on papers presented at the 35th IBBY Congress, hosted by Storylines in Auckland in 2016. The book was launched by Dame Wendy Pye, Patron of Storylines, in August 2018 at a Storylines event prior to the Booksellers New Zealand 2018 Conference.
Dr Libby Limbrick and Nicola Daly following the launch of the book


Storylines Margaret Mahy Award Winner 2019

Acclaimed Young Adult and adult novelist Many Hager has been selected as the 2019 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner.
Mandy is author of an impressive list of award-winning books spanning the last two decades; she is a trained teacher, with an Advanced Diploma in Fine Arts (Whitireia) and an MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University. In addition to her YA fiction, she also writes adult fiction, short stories, non-fiction, educational resources, blogs and articles. She currently tutors the Novel Course for Whitireia’s Creative Writing programme. Read more about Mandy here. Read the full news release about her award here.

Mandy Hager


2018 Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award lecture

The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award for 2018 was presented to Northland librarian and children’s literacy advocate Jeannie Skinner in early December.  A full copy of the text of her lecture is now on our Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award website page.
Jeannie Skinner presents the Storylines Spring lecture


Storylines National Festival Story Tour 2019

Applications are still open for thsi year's Story Tour, but there are limited spaces on each remaining.
Please check your emails as in the next couple of weeks for confirmation of whether your application has been successful. If you' haven;t yet done so and would like one (or maybe two) of our writers or illustrators to visit, apply now:
§  Otago, 13-17 May
§  Northland, 17-21 June
§  Auckland, 19-23 August
§  Gisborne/Central Plateau, 9-13 September
§  Thames/Coromandel/Hauraki, 21-25 October
Top: Darryn Joseph & Gavin Bishop on the Story Tour
Bottom: Gavin Bishop on the Story Tour

Congratulations Gerri Judkins

Storylines Foundation has awarded Gerri Judkins a Storylines Life membership. Gerri, who will be acknowledged at the Storylines National Margaret Mahy Awards Day, is a children's literature specialist and librarian at Southwell School in the Waikato. She has been a judge of children's literature awards, and a speaker on children's literature nationally and internationally. She was the 2016 winner of the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award for services to childrenb's literature,  and has also been recognised by the Library and Information Association and the School Librarians Association for her work as an advocate for children's books and young people's engagemnt with literature.
Gerri Judkins


Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day 2019

Now we're into 2019, remember to mark 12.30pm, Sunday 31 March 2019 for the Storylines National Margaret Mahy Awards Day. We'll be making an exciting announcement about a new activity for Storylines as well as presenting awards and certificates for the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal, the manuscript awards, the Storylines Gavin Bishop Award for a new illustrator, and the 2019 Notable Books. It will be held the University of Auckland Music Auditorium, Epsom campus, Epsom Avenue, Auckland. Highlight of the afternoon will be the presentation by Mandy Hager of her Margaret Mahy lecture.
Registrations essential. Register now.
Networking and book buying opportunities at the 2018 Awards day

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a Much-loved Book

Storylines invites nominations for the 2019 Gaelyn Gordon Award. Sponsored by David Ling Publishers, Scholastic New Zealand and HarperCollins, the award honours a book for children or young adults which has remained in print for a period of more than five years and proved itself a favourite with readers. but which has not won a major award.Nominations are invited from publishers, authors or illustrators for any book which meet these basic criteria. The deadline for submissions is Friday 15 February 2019. Details on our website.
2018 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award winner, Nickety-Nackety, Noo-Noo-Noo by Joy Cowley


Top Ten ways to reach reluctant readers

Storylines members can now access a new Top Ten Tips sheet on our website, as author peter Millett offers his take on how to achieve success writing for reluctant readers. Read his advice here.
If you are not a current Storylines member, but would like to support Storylines and gain access to our member-only resources, head to our membership page first.

Peter Millett


Subscription reminder

Storylines thanks all members who have renewed their subscriptions or joined this year.
Your support, through your Storylines Foundation membership, is important to us. Foundation memberships support our work engaging young New Zealanders with books and reading (e.g. through the Story Tours) and supporting New Zealand children's writers and illustrators (e.g. through national awards, events and publications).
Renew your membership, or join the Storylines Foundation, through the website with your credit card, or as a direct credit to the Storylines bank account. Check out our instructions for renewal or new membership.
Members and volunteers are integral to the success of Storylines' activities


Answer & Win

In 2019 we are giving away two prize packs containing fabulous New Zealand children's books every month. Email us at competition@storylines.org.nz with the answer to this month's question: Please tell us the name of the 2019 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner, and when she will be awarded with her medal.
Our February prize pac:


News on our Facebook and home pages

Storylines' Facebook page is accessible through the website, and we would love to increase our tally of ‘likes’. Content includes photos and reports from the 2018 Story Tours and much more.
You'll also read other news items on our home page. Check in for updates.

 News from other organisations
The New Zealand Book Awards Trust has announced that submissions are now open for the 2019 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults, which recognise and celebrate the best books for young readers produced annually. Titles published between 1 April 2018 and 31 March 2019 will be considered. Read more.


No comments: