Monday, February 04, 2019

Ockhams Longlist

Many of New Zealand’s literary heavyweights feature in the 40-strong Ockham New Zealand Book Awards longlist announced this morning.

The latest works of Lloyd Jones, Fiona Kidman, Maurice Gee and Vincent O’Sullivan are among the rich and varied range nominated for the country’s premier book awards, now in their 51st year. They sit alongside debutants and rising stars whose books traverse sweeping contemporary, cultural, historic, artistic and social landscapes.

New Zealand Book Awards Trust chair Nicola Legat says the Awards received a large number of entries again this year and the standard was extremely high across all categories.
“The judges would have had a challenging task and it’s very gratifying and exciting to see the mix of established writers and younger emerging talent across all the longlist categories. This signals a very encouraging situation for New Zealand literature.”
— Nicola Legat, NZBAT chair
You can find the full list of Ockham New Zealand Book Awards longlisted titles here and you can download social media visuals to promote the books from the resources page of our website later this morning.

Publishers are reminded that entries are still open for the 2019 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults, and submissions are currently being accepted for books published between 1 December 2018 and 31 March 2019.
Details on how to enter can be found here. The 2019 NZCYA shortlist will be announced on 6 June.
We have a date for NPD 2019! The 22nd Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day will be held on 23 August this year.

NPD 2018 blew previous records off the charts with our largest national tally of events ever, at 150. Registrations for 2019 events will open in early March, so poets, publishers, booksellers and poetry-loving organisers, put your creative caps on and let’s make 2019 even bigger.
Keep an eye on our Facebook page for further updates, or our National Poetry Day webpage.
As we start the new year, the New Zealand Book Awards Trust welcomes a new trustee and congratulates another.

Jenna Todd, the manager of the award-winning Auckland bookstore Time Out, joins the Trust as the Booksellers NZ representative, succeeding Rachel Eadie. Jenna was the first recipient of the Kobo Booksellers NZ Scholarship in 2014 and was named Young Bookseller of the Year in 2015. She was a fiction judge for the 2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.
Jenna Todd
And it’s a double round of champagne for independent trustee Paula Morris. The award-winning novelist, short story writer, essayist and academic has been busy since her return to New Zealand in 2015, and she was delighted to not only receive the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship late in 2018 but also to be recognised with an MNZM in the 2019 New Year Honours List for services to literature.
“I’m really looking forward to settling into the studio at the Villa Isola Bella and making the space my own. I like the stimulation and discomfort of working in new places. The award of the MNZM was much appreciated as well, as it's recognition for my body of work so far. Writing into the darkness is what I do, but sometimes it’s nice stepping into the light.”
— Paula Morris
22 February: Final entry deadline for 2019 NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults, for books published 1 December 2018 to 31 March 2018
4 March: HELL Reading Challenge 2019 begins
6 March: 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards shortlist announced
13 March: National Poetry Day event registrations/seed funding applications open
14 May: Ockham NZ Book Awards ceremony at Aotea Centre Auckland
22 May: Deadline for National Poetry Day event registration/seeding funding applications
6 June: Shortlist announced for 2019 NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults
7 August: NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults ceremony in Wellington
23 August: Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day
The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards, The New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults, and Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day could not exist without the generosity, commitment and vision of our sponsors and staging partners. The New Zealand Book Awards Trust is hugely grateful to Creative New Zealand, Ockham Residential, Acorn Foundation, Royal Society Te Apārangi, Auckland Writers Festival, HELL Pizza, Wright Family Foundation, LIANZA, Wellington City Council, Te Papa, Nielsen Book, Phantom Billstickers, and our other wonderful supporters. You can find out more about them here, here and here
You can find out more about the work of the Trust on our website or if you have a specific enquiry, contact our Trust Manager. And do follow us on our various social media accounts to keep up with our busy calendar of events and other news:

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards
via Facebook or Twitter

Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day
via Facebook or Twitter

New Zealand Book Awards for Children
& Young Adults

via Facebook or Twitter

No comments: