Tuesday, March 08, 2016


The Longlist for the Orwell Prize for Books 2016 was announced today, Monday 7th March 2016.

The Orwell Prize is Britain’s most prestigious prize for political writing. It is awarded each year for the book which come closest to George Orwell’s ambition to ‘make political writing into an art’.
  • This year’s wide-ranging longlist features five women and seven men
  • Books from four independent publishing houses longlisted
  • Emma Sky longlisted for her first book
  • Longlist features Syrian writer Samar Yazbek, 2012 PEN Pinter International Writer of Courage
The judges for the Orwell Prize for Books 2016 are Lord William Waldegrave, Professor Andrew Gamble, David Goodhart and Fiammetta Rocco. Lord Waldegrave joins the judges at the shortlisting stage.

The shortlists for the Orwell Prize for Books, the Orwell Prize for Journalism and the Orwell Prize for Exposing Britain’s Social Evils will be announced at an event on the evening of Thursday 21st April 2016.

The winner of each £3000 prize will be announced at a ceremony at the end of May 2016.
The Orwell Prize was established by the late Sir Bernard Crick in its present form in 1993, awarding its first Prizes in 1994. Past winners of the Orwell Prize for Books include James Meek (2015), Alan Johnson (2014), Andrea Gillies (2010) Raja Shehadeh (2008) and Peter Hennessy (2007).

The Orwell Prize for Books 2016: Longlist
  • Andy Beckett, Promised you a Miracle: UK80 – 82 (Allen Lane)
  • Jason Burke, The New Threat from Islamic Militancy (Bodley Head)
  • Thomas Harding, The House by the Lake (William Heinemann)
  • Sudhir Hazareesingh, How the French Think (Allen Lane)
  • Steve Hilton, More Human (WH Allen)
  • John Kay, Other People’s Money (Profile Books)
  • Ferdinand Mount, The Tears of the Rajas (Simon and Schuster)
  • Arkady Ostrovsky, The Invention of Russia (Atlantic Books)
  • Emma Sky, The Unravelling (Atlantic Books)
  • Anne-Marie Slaughter, Unfinished Business (Oneworld Publications)
  • Wendell Steavenson, Circling the Square (Granta Books)
  • Gillian Tett, The Silo Effect (Little, Brown)
  • Samar Yazbek, The Crossing (Rider)

No comments: