Friday, March 30, 2018

Publishers Lunch

Today's Meal

Weike Wang has won the PEN/Hemingway Award for her debut novel Chemistry. She will receive $25,000 at an awards ceremony in Boston on April 8. Lisa Ko's The Leavers and Adelia Saunders' Indelible were the runners-up, while The Graybar Hotel by Curtis Dawkins and Live from Cairo by Ian Bassingthwaighte received honorable mentions.

In other awards news, the James Tait Black Prizes
announced their nominees in fiction and nonfiction, with the winners to be named on August 18.

The American Booksellers Association announced the finalists for the 2018 Indies Choice Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards, with the winners to be announced May 2. The nominees include:

Adult Fiction

Exit West, by Mohsin Hamid (Riverhead)
Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders (Random House)
Little Fires Everywhere, by Celeste Ng (Penguin Press)
Mrs. Caliban, by Rachel Ingalls (New Directions)
Pachinko, by Min Jin Lee (Grand Central)
Sing, Unburied, Sing, by Jesmyn Ward (Scribner)

Adult Nonfiction

Hallelujah Anyway, by Anne Lamott (Riverhead)
Hunger, by Roxane Gay (Harper)
Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann (Doubleday)
Silence, by Erling Kagge (Pantheon)
Spineless, by Juli Berwald (Riverhead)
The Stranger in the Woods, by Michael Finkel (Knopf)

Adult Debut

Fen, by Daisy Johnson (Graywolf Press)
Her Body and Other Parties, by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press)
History of Wolves, by Emily Fridlund (Atlantic Monthly Press)
The Leavers, by Lisa Ko (Algonquin Books)
The Long Haul, by Finn Murphy (W.W. Norton & Company)
Stephen Florida, by Gabe Habash (Coffee House Press)


All the Crooked Saints, by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic Press)
Dear Martin, by Nic Stone (Crown Books for Young Readers)
The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas (Balzer + Bray)
Long Way Down, by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books)
Turtles All the Way Down, by John Green (Dutton Books for Young Readers)
When Dimple Met Rishi, by Sandhya Menon (Simon Pulse)

Middle Grade

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, by Pablo Cartaya (Viking Books for Young Readers)
The First Rule of Punk, by Celia C. Perez (Viking Books for Young Readers)
One Last Word, by Nikki Grimes (Bloomsbury USA Children's Books)
Refugee, by Alan Gratz (Scholastic)
The Stars Beneath Our Feet, by David Barclay Moore (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
Wishtree, by Katherine Applegate (Feiwel & Friends)

Picture Book

After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again), by Dan Santat (Roaring Brook Press)
Alfie (The Turtle That Disappeared), by Thyra Heder (Harry N. Abrams)
Come With Me, by Holly M. McGhee and Pascal Lemaitre (G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers)
Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel, by Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri (Illus.) (Dial Books)
Escargot, by Dashka Slater, Sydney Hanson (Illus.) (Farrar, Straus and Giroux Books for Young Readers)
The Wolf, the Duck, and the Mouse, by Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illus.) (Candlewick)

The awards have also added a new category this year, "because of the growing popularity of audiobooks."

Audiobook of the Year
American War, by Omar El Akkad, read by Dion Graham (Penguin Random House Audio)
The Fact of a Body, by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich, read by the author (Macmillan Audio)
Hunger, by Roxane Gay, read by the author (HarperAudio)
Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann, read by Will Patton, Ann Marie Lee, and Danny Campbell (Penguin Random House Audio)
Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders, read by Nick Offerman, David Sedaris, George Saunders, and a full cast (Penguin Random House Audio)
The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott, read by Euan Morton (Macmillan Audio)

Erroll McDonald, vice president and executive editor at Knopf Doubleday, has been named the chairman of the board of directors of the Center for Fiction.

Beth Sochacki has been promoted to senior marketing manager at Sourcebooks.

Jenna Huerta has joined Chronicle Books as senior designer. Previously she was a lead designer at Pixar.

Harassment Files

The ABA announced a new code of conduct for association meetings and events. The code will apply to all participants, including "booksellers, ABA staff, exhibitors, speakers/presenters, guests, sponsors, volunteers, and all affiliated attendees." On the list of behaviors that violate the code: offensive verbal comments; inappropriate physical contact; sexual propositions; unwelcome sexual attention; off-color or obscene jokes, remarks, or gestures; and more. Anyone who violates the code "may, in the judgment and discretion of ABA, be asked to stop; may be expelled from an ABA event, without refund if applicable; may be prevented from attending future ABA events; and may have ABA membership and future participation privileges revoked."

No comments: