Wednesday, April 13, 2011

The Crime Writers’ Association announces longlist for the CWA Dagger in the Library 2011

The CWA Dagger Awards celebrate the very best in crime and thriller writing, and are the longest established literary awards in the UK. These premier awards in crime fiction are recognised internationally as a mark of excellence.

The CWA Dagger in the Library is sponsored by The Random House Group

Authors are nominated by UK libraries and Readers’ Groups and judged by a panel of librarians. The Dagger is awarded to an author for a body of work, rather than a single title. The prize money is £1500 to the author, plus £300 to a participating library's readers' group.

The shortlist will be announced at the CWA reception at CrimeFest, Bristol on May 20. The winner will be announced, along with other Daggers, during the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate, on the evening of July 22.

Dagger longlist 2011

Author - Publisher

1 Bolton, SJ Bantam Press, Transworld

2 Brodrick, William Little, Brown Book Group

3 Ellory, RJ Orion

4 Goodwin, Jason Faber @ Faber

5 Griffths, Elly Quercus

6 Hannah, Sophie Hodder @ Stoughton

7 Harvey, John Willian Heinemann

8 Hayder, Mo Bantam Press, Transworld

9 Hill, Susan Vintage

10 Hurley, Graham Orion

11 James, Peter Macmillan

12 Kerr, Philip Quercus

13 Rickman, Phil Quercus (older books relaunched by Corvus)

14 Sansom, CJ Macmillan

15 Taylor, Andrew Penguin (most recently)

16 Tyler, LC Macmillan

No comments: