Wednesday, February 03, 2016

The first in a brilliant new series

Orphan X
Gregg Hurwitz
 $37.00 -  Michael Joseph

‘Do you need my help?

It was always the first question he asked. They called him when they had nowhere else to turn.

The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them.

But he’s not merely a legend.

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He’s also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as part of the off-the-books black box Orphan program, designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence assets — i.e. assassins. As part of a top secret programme he was sent to the worst places in the world to do the things his government denied any knowledge of.

He was Orphan X.

Evan broke with the program, using everything he learned to disappear.  He wanted to help the desperate and deserving. Now, however, someone is on his tail. Someone with similar skills and training. Someone who knows Orphan X. Someone who is getting closer and closer. And will exploit Evan’s weakness — his work as The Nowhere Man — to find him and eliminate him.

Grabbing the reader from the very first page, Orphan X is a masterful thriller, the first in Gregg Hurwitz’s electrifying new series introducing a brilliantly realised new character. 

I couldn't put this one down and am thrilled that it is the beginning of a new series from this terrific writer. Fans of Lee Child and John Grisham must read this.

About Gregg Hurwitz: Gregg Hurwitz is the New York Times bestselling author of 15 thrillers, including Orphan X. His novels have been shortlisted for numerous literary awards, graced top ten lists, and have been translated into 25 languages. He is also a New York Times Bestselling comic book writer, having penned stories for Marvel (Wolverine, Punisher) and DC (Batman, Penguin). Additionally, he’s written screenplays for or sold spec scripts to many of the major studios, and written, developed, and produced television for various networks. Gregg lives in Los Angeles.

Photo right - Gregg Hurwitz credit Nancyrose us.jpg

No comments: