Friday, May 13, 2016



The curtains have risen; the 2016 Auckland Writers Festival has begun! More than 5,000 school students have been inspired by writers and illustrators from here and around the world over the last three days. Emma Sky, Jean-Christophe Rufin and Yossi Alpher, the panelists for Wednesday evening’s sold-out Border Debate, received rapturous applause at the end of a passionate forum which was skilfully moderated by Julian Baggini. The 2016 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards judges revealed this year’s premier literary honours - congratulations to Stephen Daisley, Witi Ihimaera, Atholl Anderson, Aroha Harris, David Eggleton, Melissa Matutina Williams, David Coventry, Chris Tse and Richard Nunns! Read all about the winners here.

There are still plenty of seats left to many of this year’s main sessions. So if you haven’t booked to see Peter Garrett, Susie Orbach, Jeanette Winterson, Herman Koch, Jane Smiley or David Hare, now is the time!

Remember to arrive in good time to free sessions! These are often over-subscribed and we would hate for you to miss out.
Check out the full programme now!

No comments: