Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Alma, C&R and John Blake compete in publishing awards

Alma Books, Constable & Robinson and John Blake Publishing have been shortlisted for the IPG Trade Publisher of the Year at the IPG's Independent Publishing Awards. The shortlisting puts C&R in the running to win the award twice in a row, having triumphed in 2012.
Meanwhile Nosy Crow, Usborne Publishing and Walker Books will compete to be named IPG Children's Publisher of the Year.

Children's digital publishing specialist Nosy Crow has made its way onto four of the IPG Independent Publishing Awards shortlists, the highest number of any publisher, having last year picked up a hat-trick of awards.

Faber has two shortlistings, plus a third for its Faber Factory service. Constable & Robinson, Advance Materials, Bloomsbury, Saqi and Phonic Books also all pick up two nominations.
Bloomsbury Professional, Academic and Professional Division is nominated alongside Edward Elgar Publishing, Liverpool University Press, and Woodhead Publishing in the Frankfurt Book Fair Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year category.

In the IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year category, Vicky Blunden of Myriad Editions is nominated, alongside Lynn Gaspard of Saqi Books, and Emma Langley of Phoenix Yard Books. The judges reported being "especially struck" by the "very high quality of candidates" in this category.
Bridget Shine, executive director of the IPG, said: "Competition for this year's IPG Independent Publishing Awards has been exceptionally strong, and we applaud all those members who took the time to submit entries. We also thank our judges, who deliberated long and hard to produce these shortlists. Congratulations to all who have been nominated, and we look forward to crowning our 2013 winners in March."

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner during the IPG's annual conference on 7th March, when the overall IPG Independent Publisher of the Year will also be revealed. This winner is chosen from a shortlist of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

No comments: