Thursday, February 23, 2017

New Zealanders invited to nominate their pick of the country's finest writers

New Zealanders are asked to nominate their pick of the country’s finest writers for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Nominees should be writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. The winner of each genre is awarded $60,000.

New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.  

Nominations close on Friday, 7 April at 5pm.

In 2016, David Eggleton received the award for poetry, Marilyn Duckworth for fiction and Atholl Anderson for non-fiction.

No comments: