Friday, December 07, 2012

Campbell and Robinson on political book awards shortlists

06.12.12 | Katie Allen - The Bookseller

Alastair Campbell and Mary Robinson are among the authors shortlisted for the inaugural Paddy Power and Total Politics Book Awards, set up to celebrate excellence across all areas of political publishing.

The new prize includes nine categories, including the £10,000 Political Book of the Year, for which Campbell and Nick Robinson go head to head; the £3,000 Debut Political Book of the Year, with nominees including Ian Cobain and Gaby Hinsliff; and the Young Political Writer of the Year, aimed at authors under the age of 30 at the time their book was published, also worth £3,000.

The other categories are: Political Biography of the Year, Polemic of the Year, Political History Book of the Year, International Affairs Book of the Year, Political Process Book of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award in Political Literature.

A spokesperson for Paddy Power said:"All too often, brilliant and insightful political writing goes uncelebrated ­ until now, we hope. We couldn't have asked for a more stellar line-up: Campbell, Straw, Adonis, Robinson, Carswell, Marr, Esler, it's got more flair and zing than a Barcelona midfield."

The prize money is sponsored by Lord Ashcroft and Paddy Power. The judging panels include Charles Clarke, Ann Widdecombe and Mary Beard. The winners will be announced on 6th February 2013.

Read full shortlists at The Bookseller

No comments: