Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Feet of Clay Wins Amy Levy Prize

Untitled, (Prisoner's Legs) Buchenwald, Germany, 1945
Feet of Clay Wins Amy Levy Prize
Feet of Clay, by Beatrice Baltuck Garrard (pictured above), has won the first ever Amy Levy Prize - a new award given to a writer under the age of 30, addressing a Jewish theme. Tum Balalaika by Michelle Samuels has received the second prize and Garden Hose by Talya Zax was commended.
A distinguished panel of judges was headed by Naomi Alderman, winner of the Orange Prize for New Writing. The panel included novelist and journalist, Adam LeBor; literary critic and chair of the Jewish Quarterly Advisory Board, David Herman; academic, Nadia Valman; and Rabbi Baroness Julia Neuberger DBE.
Sponsored by Jewish Quarterly and JW3, the Amy Levy Prize is the first international Jewish writing prize specifically aimed at making a difference in the early career of young writers. 

No comments: