Tuesday, December 15, 2015

2016 Man Booker Prize for Fiction: Judges announced

The panel of five is chaired by Amanda Foreman, biographer, historian and presenter of the highly acclaimed recent BBC series, The Ascent of Woman. Foreman judged the prize in 2012, under the chairmanship of Sir Peter Stothard. Her four fellow judges are a critic, a novelist, a poet and an actor.
The 2016 panel is: Amanda Foreman (Chair), award-winning historian and internationally bestselling author of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire; Jon Day, Critic and Lecturer in English at King's College London, specialising in modernist fiction; Abdulrazak Gurnah, Booker Prize-shortlisted novelist and Professor of English and Postcolonial Literatures at the University of Kent; David Harsent, poet and Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Roehampton, winner of 2014 T.S. Eliot prize; Olivia Williams, actor, currently starring in a National Theatre’s production of Harley Granville-Barker's Waste.
2016 is the 48th year of the prize, which was launched in 1969. The 2016 judging panel will be looking for the best novel of the year, selected from entries published in the UK between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016.
 The ‘Man Booker Dozen’ of 12 or 13 books will be announced in late July 2016 and the shortlist of six books in early September 2016. The winner of the 2016 Man Booker Prize for Fiction will be announced on 11 October 2016 at an awards ceremony at London’s Guildhall, broadcast live by the BBC.

The judges will read submissions both in hard copy and using e-readers.

The Man Booker Prize is sponsored by Man Group, one of the world’s largest independent alternative investment managers. 

www.themanbookerprize.com | #FinestFiction

No comments: