Tuesday, November 20, 2012

NZSA Beatson Fellowship – Recipient Announced

The New Zealand Society of Authors is delighted to announce that the winner of  the Beatson Fellowship 2013 is award-winning Paraparaumu author Mandy Hager.
Mandy is an award-winning writer and educator based on the Kapiti Coast, New Zealand. She writes a range of different genres, including YA and adult novels, non-fiction resources, scripts and shorter fiction.  She won the 2010 NZ Post Children’s Book Award for Young Adult Fiction for The Crossing – the first in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy (pub. Random House NZ).  The second book in the trilogy quickly followed with the third book published earlier this year.

Mandy will be using her fellowship to work on a new YA novel called “Dear Vincent.”

With grateful thanks to Peter and Dianne Beatson this award occurs annually and provides the successful applicant with $7,000 and the option of one month’s residency in a cottage at Foxton Beach.  In 2012 the fellowship was awarded to Catherine Chidgey who added significantly to her new novel – “The Fugitive Image.”

We would also like to congratulate those applicants who were shortlisted and highly commended. 
Shortlist: Pip Adam, Breton Dukes, Stephanie Johnson, Christine Leunens, Felicity Price and Tina Shaw.

No comments: