Friday, September 16, 2016

Awards: National Book Award Fiction Longlist; National Humanities Medal Recipients; and More

Publishers Lunch

A week of National Book Award longlists ends with the fiction list of ten nominees, including recent Oprah Book Club selection Colson Whitehead -- the best-known author on the list as well -- and last year's Young People's Literature winner Jacqueline Woodson. Three of the titles are published by Norton; the rest are all from imprints at the largest houses. The full list features:

Chris Bachelder,
The Throwback Special (Norton)
Garth Greenwell,
What Belongs to You (FSG)
Adam Haslett,
Imagine Me Gone (Little, Brown)
Paulette Jiles,
News of the World (William Morrow)
Karan Mahajan,
The Association of Small Bombs (Viking)
Elizabeth McKenzie,
The Portable Veblen (Penguin Press)
Lydia Millet,
Sweet Lamb of Heaven (Norton)
Brad Watson,
Miss Jane (Norton)
Colson Whitehead,
The Underground Railroad (Doubleday)
Jacqueline Woodson,
Another Brooklyn (Amistad)

In other awards news, the 12 new recipients of National Humanities Medals, to be presented at the White House later this month,
include authors: Rudolfo Anaya, Ron Chernow, Louise Gluck, James McBride, Louis Menand, Elaine Pagels, Abraham Verghese, and Isabel Wilkerson.

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize
announced the finalists for their fiction and nonfiction awards

No comments: