Thursday, May 04, 2017

New Zealand author, Jenni Ogden, wins Gold in 2016 Nautilus Book Awards

New Zealand author, Jenni Ogden, wins the Gold in the 2016 Nautilus Book Awards for Fiction, Large Publisher, for her novel ‘A Drop in the Ocean’ published by US publisher, She Writes Press.

She shares the GOLD with Monica Wood for her novel ‘The One in a Million Boy’ published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

The Nautilus Award for Fiction has been won in past years by many well-known authors, including NoViolet Bulawayo for ‘We Need New Names’ (Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize  [won by New Zealander Eleanor Catton that year] and winner of the Etisalat Prize for Literature and the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award), and Barbara Kingsolver for her novel ‘Flight Behavior’ (a New York Times Bestseller, and declared "Best book of the year" by the Washington Post and USA Today).  

‘A Drop in the Ocean’ also won the GOLD in the 2016 Sarton Women’s Book Awards—Contemporary Fiction; the GOLD in the Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPYS)— Best Fiction, Australia and NZ; and the SILVER in the 2016 Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards, Women’s Fiction.

The five winners are listed below.

2016 Nautilus Book Award for FICTION, Large Publisher

GOLD A Drop in the Ocean, by Jenni Ogden, She Writes Press

GOLD The One-in-a-Million Boy, by Monica Wood, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

SILVER LaRose – a novel, by Louise Erdrich, HarperCollins / Harper

SILVER In the Blue Hour, by Elizabeth Hall, Lake Union Publishing

SILVER Balm, by Dolen Perkins-Valdez, HarperCollins

Now completing its 19th year, Nautilus Book Awards recognises books across a wide range of genres that transcend barriers of culture, gender, race, and class, and promote conscious living & green values, spiritual growth, wellness & vitality, and positive social change. Last year, Nautilus received entries from 36 States of USA, and from 12 other nations. Dedicated to excellence and high standards of both message and presentation, the Nautilus program celebrates books that inspire and connect our lives as individuals, communities and global citizens.

Nautilus Book Awards is held in particular high-regard for recognizing and promoting outstanding print books that nurture positive change to co-create a Better World.

Nautilus is one of the few major Book Award programs that welcomes entries from the full range of the publishing spectrum: Author Self-Published, from Small Press (2 to 10 books annual & from multiple authors), and from Large Publishers. All the books selected as Winners are potent seeds for the growth, coherence, and healing of our world.

 The Nautilus Mission is to make more visible a wide subject-range
of Better Books for a Better World.  ( )

Jenni will be reading from the novel at the Auckland Writers’ Festival at 4pm on Friday 19th May, in a free ‘session, ‘Four for Fifty—Taking Refuge’ in the Limelight Room.

No comments: