Thursday, March 16, 2017

Shortlists announced for Storylines Joy Cowley Award and Tom Fitzgibbon Award

Nine New Zealand writers have been shortlisted from nearly 200 submissions for the annual Storylines awards for unpublished manuscripts: the Joy Cowley Award for a Picture Book Text and the Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a Children’s Novel.

 For the Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award, the shortlist is:

Elise De Silva (Auckland) for Quantum Timeline

Victoria Hathaway (Auckland) for The Elephant in the Room

Laura Hunter (Auckland) for Spacesliders

Fiona Jordan (Auckland) for Donato and the Cartege Blade

Christine Walker (Christchurch) for The Short but Brilliant Career of Lucas Weed

For the Storylines Joy Cowley Award, the shortlist is:

Christine Ashton (Te Anau) for My Friend Fred

Elaine Bickell (Wellington) for The Enormous Feet

Charlotte Holt (Oratia, Auckland) for The Princess and the Pirate

Belinda O’Keefe (Christchurch) for The Truly Magnificent Stick
The awards were set up in partnership with Scholastic New Zealand to encourage new writers. They carry a cash prize and, when merited, the offer of publication. Judging is by Scholastic and a panel of Storylines’ children’s book experts.  

The winners will be announced at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal Presentation and National Awards Day on Sunday 2 April 2017, to be held at the University of Auckland Epsom Campus.

No comments: