Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Auckland book launch invitation from Otago University Press

Otago University Press warmly invites you to celebrate the publication of Disobedient Teaching by Welby Ings.

When: 6.00–7.30pm, Wednesday 29 March 2017

Where: The Wave Room [WG308], Sir Paul Reeves Building, AUT, 55 Wellesley Street, Auckland

RSVP: publicity@otago.ac.nz by 22 March

Disobedient Teaching: Surviving and creating change in education 
By Welby Ings

 This book is about disobedience. Positive disobedience. Disobedience as a kind of professional behaviour. It shows how teachers can survive and even influence an education system that does staggering damage to potential. More importantly it is an arm around the shoulder of disobedient teachers who transform people’s lives, not by climbing promotion ladders but by operating at the grassroots.

Disobedient Teaching tells stories from the chalk face. Some are funny and some are heartbreaking, but they all happen in New Zealand schools.

This book says you can reform things in a system that has become obsessed with assessment and tick-box reporting. It shows how the essence of what makes a great teacher is the ability to change educational practices that have been shaped by anxiety, ritual and convention.

Disobedient Teaching argues the transformative power of teachers who think and act.

WELBY INGS is a professor in design at Auckland University of Technology. He is an elected Fellow of the British Royal Society of Arts and a consultant to many international organisations on issues of creativity and learning. He is also an award-winning academic, designer, filmmaker and playwright. But until the age of 15 Welby could neither read nor write. He was considered ‘slow’ at school and he was eventually expelled. Later he was suspended from teachers’ college.

Welby has taught at all levels of the New Zealand education system and remains an outspoken critic of the education system’s ‘obsession’ with assessing performance. In 2001 he was awarded the Prime Minister’s inaugural Supreme Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence.

No comments: