Thursday, June 30, 2016

Front Line Medical Staff Finalists in Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards

Works by a head and neck surgeon, a retired chest physician and a midwife are among
the finalists of the Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards announced today.

There are ten finalists, five in each of the two categories - for published works and unpublished manuscripts. Each category winner receives a $10,000 prize.

Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards convenor of judges, Adonia Wylie, says the finalists are
an impressive array, covering wide ranging subjects under the genre, from all over New Zealand. 

“Highly educated left brains give us logical and easy to understand works while addressing a difficult, subjective and complex subject, while right brain intuitives and wonderful imagination enable us to cover almost the entire spectrum. 

“The depth of thought and attention to finely wrought subjects is impressive, with experiencers of non-ordinary states of being and researchers and theorists - all, providing
a comprehensive, impressive and holistic view of the genre.”

The 2016 Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards Book Category finalists are:
· Pt Chevalier Reiki Master and yoga instructor Louise Beker’s novel, Her Eight Limbs of Love (Angelos Publishing)

·Warkworth retired chest physician Adrian Harrison’s Creating Now (Balboa Press)

·Nelson  IT engineer Alastair Bruce Scott-Hill’s The Paranormal is Normal (The Copy Press)

·Northland psychic medium Kelvin Cruickshank’s Soul Secrets (Penguin Books)

·Wellington retired head and neck surgeon Tony Michael Martin’s book A Sense of More Than (Makaro Press)

The 2016 Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards Manuscript category finalists are:

*Christchurch counsellor, Clement McGrath (Yoga of Relationships)
·Takaka anthropologist, Judith Hoch (The Soothsayer)

·North Shore, Auckland midwife, Kathy Fray (Oh God – What the Hell Do I Tell Them)

·Papakura Reiki Master, Kerryn Fisk (The Waka Taua)

·Wellington astrologist and yoga teacher, Linda George (Living in the Big Picture).

The awards are unique in the country for their encouragement of writing in the mind, body, spirit genre. The awards were established in 1999 thanks to a bequest from
the late businessman, Ashton Wylie.

 The winners will be announced at a ceremony at The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s own venue, Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland on 19 August, 2016.


1 comment:

jules older said...

What a great idea for an award.