Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Jenny Bornholdt to judge 2019 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award

Jenny Bornholdt to judge 2019 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award

Otago University Press advisory Tuesday 5 March 2019

This prestigious biennial poetry award from Landfall and the Kathleen Grattan Trust is for an original book-length collection of poems, by a New Zealand or Pacific permanent resident or citizen.

Individual poems in the collection can have been previously published, but the collection as a whole should be unpublished.

Entries are accepted until 31 July 2019.

The result will be announced in Landfall 238 (November 2019), and the winner receives $10,000 and a year's subscription to Landfall. Otago University Press has the right to publish the winning collection.

For full entry details, and to learn more about Kathleen Grattan and the history of the award, go to


The judge for the 2019 award is Jenny Bornholdt, who has published ten books of poems, the most recent of which is Selected Poems (VUP, 2016). She also edited the 2018 anthology Short Poems of New Zealand (VUP).


Her collection The Rocky Shore was made up of six long poems and won the Montana New Zealand Book Award for Poetry in 2009. She is the co-editor of My Heart Goes Swimming: New Zealand Love Poems and the Oxford Anthology of New Zealand Poetry in English. Jenny’s poems have appeared on ceramics, on a house, on paintings, in the foyer of a building and in letterpress books alongside drawings and photographs. She has also written two children’s books.


Kāpiti poet Alison Glenny was the winner of the 2017 Kathleen Grattan Award with ‘The Farewell Tourist’, a poetry collection inspired by a visit to Antarctica. 

No comments: