Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Nothing for it but to sing

Michael Harlow’s Winning New Poetry Collection

 The poems in Michael Harlow’s new collection, Nothing for it but to Sing, are small detonations that release deeply complex stories of psychological separations and attractions, of memory and desire.

Frequently they slip into the alluring spaces just at the edges of language, dream and gesture, as they carefully lower, like measuring gauges, into the ineffable: intimations of mortality, the slippery nature of identity, longing, fear …

Nothing for it but to Sing is Harlow’s tenth collection – the manuscript of this book won the Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award in 2015. Notable for sonic playfulness and insight this selection of lyrical poems, asks the reader to ‘keep an eye and an ear on the language’.

Nothing for it but to Sing
 By Michael Harlow
 Otago University Press
ISBN 978-1-927322-62-8, $25

MICHAEL HARLOW has published 10 books of poetry, and was poetry editor for Landfall for some 10 years. He has judged New Zealand and international poetry competitions, and been on selection panels including for the New Zealand book awards in 1986 and 2001.
 In 2016 he was awarded the PSNZ/Beatson Fellowship Award, and the Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award. Two years earlier he received the Lauris Edmond Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to Poetry.
 Michael has represented New Zealand/Oceania at many international literary festivals. His work has been translated into French, Italian, Greek, Spanish, German and Romanian.


No comments: